North American Society for Early Phenomenology
2013 Annual Conference
June 12th – 14th, 2013
King’s University College, Western University
London, Ontario, Canada

Call for Abstracts:
Describing and Exploring Early Phenomenology

Keynote Speaker:  Lester Embree (Florida Atlantic University)

The North American Society for Early Phenomenology (NASEP) invites all scholars to submit abstracts on any aspect of early phenomenology. This encompasses all philosophical investigations into the members of the Munich and Göttingen circles prior to WWI, their place within the early period of phenomenology (roughly 1900-1939), their relationship to other philosophers, and their contributions to the development of early phenomenology. The aim of this conference is to investigate the works of early phenomenologists across a broad range of topics, including ethics, mathematics, logic, aesthetics, politics, epistemology, ontology, etc. Figures covered include, but are not limited to: Edmund Husserl, Max Scheler, Moritz Geiger, Alexander Pfänder, Adolf Reinach, Carl Stumpf, Theodor Conrad, Johannes Daubert, Dietrich Mahnke, Hans Lipps, Hedwig Conrad-Martius, Wilhelm Schapp, Edith Stein, Alexandre Koyré, Jean Hering, Winthrop Bell, Maximilian Beck, Roman Ingarden, Dietrich von Hildebrand, Fritz Kaufmann, Theodor Celms, Aron Gurwitsch, Gustav Shpet, Gerda Walther, Wolfgang Köhler, Dorion Cairns, and Eugen Fink. We also welcome papers on the relationship between early phenomenology and the School of Brentano, Hermann Lotze, Theodor Lipps, the
American Pragmatists, and the Neo-Kantians.

The conference will be held 12-14 June 2013 at King’s University College, Western University. Senior researchers and graduate students both are welcome to submit proposals. Graduate students should indicate their status in the email with their submission. Abstracts should be prepared for blind review, and should not exceed 300 words.

Deadline for submissions is March 1, 2013.

Please send submissions and inquiries to:

Dr. Kimberly Baltzer-Jaray, NASEP President